I have always loved comics, ever since my Uncle Frankie gave me a box of them when I was 4-6, dumb mistake, I read looked at all the then great issues which could of financed me later on. Still I read them, and enjoyed them.
All the comic nerds have them boxed away in their sleeves protecting them, investing in them. Books are to be read, toys are meant to be played with by kids, but no fanboys ruined childhoods again. Like Carl Sagan or Neil Tyson DeGrasse, ruining sci fiction with fact, sure fact is cool, but so is Space Wizards with light up sword, if you don't get it, walk away.
Now, on with the title, my main reads as a kid were for DC, Aqua man, Green Arrow(before Grell did his thing. It is fine, but Green Arrow was a modern day robin hood, Green lantern, a Space cop, fucking A! And I did read Batman, but I enjoyed the non dark goofy stuff, (Adam West is my Batman, Michael is second, the rest are garbage IMO), and finally Superman. The Half Canadian Superhero.
Superman, to a lot of folks is boring, which is fine, for them for me. Supes was always that big brother who would be larger than life. The Boy Scout helping people out. The powers were there but that didn't matter. He was an orphan, loved by his adopted family, given good morals to live by, to promote. He was different than Batman, a kid orphaned and taught himself how to brutalize criminals, to put them away, only to have escape later on to kill more people, people close to him, well mostly Alfred, Jason Todd (ok maybe not him). Batman fails every time being a hero. Bruce is a Billionaire, why isn't he helping people out, Nope he creates OMAC (One man Army Corp) in one time, an AI that wants to kill him. Did Bruce try to save Freeze with financing his attempt to save his wife, no.
I bring this up because I watched an interview with Todd Macfarlane, he stated how boring Superman is, and it is his thoughts, but no, Superman is an ideal, something to strive to be better. Spawn is a killer who rules Hell now? or it was that way last time I read a spawn comic, or that lame ass movie. Spikes and a striking resemblance to Spidey's black suit. Meh, it was the nineties.
Marvel has characters who are tired and boring to. Wolverine, fuck if there was a Superman type of character, Wolverine is it, but worse. His height was originally under 5'5", but he is as big as most heroes now, can regenerate from bones(???), cut anything with his blades, ever cut a tire with a knife, not easy, so he has to have super strength, to cut a Sentinel nut sack off. Over powered much, they killed him but he survived. They only killed Supes once.
Or Spider-man ( i loved Amazing Spider-Man growing up), the writers just like shitting on Spider-Man, to save Aunt May from a bullet, he made a deal with the devil to make her live again, in which he and Mary Jane break up and grow a part. Gods, Aunt may, must be 140-150 years old now. I mean I would love to see my family live that long and me along side them. But jesus, I read ASM online every effing Wednesday, and this arc is garbage, Zeb Wells had a great series called Skullkickers. His Spiderman stuff is painfully dreadful.
And Back to Supes, in Man of Steel, it was a good attempt on Superman, Cavill is 2nd to Christopher Reeves, and people were upset when he killed Zod, He was protecting who he thought was his people, he grew up on Earth.
Anyways, keep you mitts off Clark/Supeman. BTW, who didn't try to fly like superman in pretend?